the new place

FYI, I wrote this blog over a month ago, at the beginning of June. Yes, it’s taken me that long to gain the effort to go out in public for decent Internet. The struggle is real, especially when you realize the Internet is obsolete. So…pretend like it’s the first of June, and that’ll get you up to date with my life.

We are officially no longer living in a dry cabin! The move happened so fast, and we’ve had family and events in and out over the last couple weeks. But we’re on about week 3 of living in a real log cabin, with a holding tank for running water (complete with a lovely hot water heater). I’m going to explain a little more here about this transition, because it was not as easy as you may think.

I know that I sometimes complained about the inconveniences of the dry cabin, but at the same time, I knew deep down that I valued the extra efforts we had to make to live. I appreciated the small space because you can only have so much extra stuff. Less to clean, more stuff to keep organized in the small space, but it was simple. This isn’t to say where we are now is not simple, because it is!

The new place is great. We both loved it when we saw it. It’s funny, the two things we both desired desperately in the next house was running water, and to be closer to town. I wrote sometimes about how frustrating it would be to have to plan so far in advance trips to town and errands to run living 20-25 minutes out. Well, we moved just a little bit farther out…but with that compromise, we gained 5 acres of land, mostly wooded and great for trailblazing. We got a 3(ish) story house with running water, a bathroom, a shower, a bathTUB, and a pretty big kitchen. (Did I mention the kitchen also has a sink with a faucet…and hot running water?) It has a sweet wood stove, which is exciting. We’ve never had a wood stove, but it is another one of those Alaskan experiences. A lot of people have wood stoves as the main heat source, and toyo stoves or radiant heaters as back up. Keeping a wood stove running through an entire Alaskan winter is hard work, and the work starts NOW. It takes time to cut up wood, but even longer to store it because it’s best to burn wood that’s been dried out. This process takes 3-6 months.

Built in the 70s, this place has a lot of character. The main support beam that goes through the main floor ceiling is kind of short. Logan has to duck his head to the side to walk from one side to the other. The guy who built it was eccentric…or maybe short. Or maybe it was a joke?

Since we lived in such a small space before, moving didn’t take too much time. We rented a van and moved all of our furniture in one trip. And since Logan works a lot, I mainly did the rest of the small stuff in a few fully loaded car trips. All in all, the process took 2-3 days, off and on. This is kind of a weird accomplishment, but I managed to move every single item we possess without using packing tape, or bubble wrap. (haha, talk about lazy). Who wants to individually wrap cups and plates and glassware, just to drive 10 miles down the street and unwrap it all. Call it laziness, or call it efficiency…;) I just drove slow, and nothing broke.

For those few days it took to fully move out, I went through some crazy emotions. Being in transition is like living in limbo—stuff in two places. You can’t remember what’s packed and what’s where. And you feel like you’re destroying one home, and rebuilding another one from scratch. This sounds ridiculous, but I had the hardest time finding places for our stuff in the new place. I went from having literally 2 drawers, and 4 cabinets in the kitchen to having like 8 drawers and 15 cabinets. And I was moving MY stuff into a place I didn’t know. Call it OCD, but I find it frustrating when I can’t find anything in my own kitchen. And overwhelming when there’s too much space. Things have since settled quite nicely. I like where things are, and the more time passes, the more I feel like this new place is home.

We are living the spoiled life now! We can take hot showers, do dishes and rinse them with hot water; we have two closets! I bought bathroom accessories the other day (?!!), I have a little loft upstairs that is housing all my music and recording stuff, which I think is pretty sweet. We have a 2-car garage! This is unheard of unless you have lots of money up here, but we lucked out! And my all time favorite part of this new place, is the large garden space and HUGE raspberry patch. It took a LOT of work, and still needs a lot more work to look fully presentable. But I am SO excited to live here. It is beautiful. Enjoy the pictures below. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

