back for a bit.

ok, ok. I know it’s been several months since my last blog post.
I could go on a rant about how busy I’ve been and all the things I’ve been doing with my spare time, but the honest truth is this…I haven’t been blogging much because I haven’t been going out to get Internet at all!
A few posts back I wrote about how we aren’t able to receive Internet at our cabin…mainly because it’s too far out. And how that was a huge struggle and challenge for a time, but it’s really gotten a lot easier. Obviously. We do have data on our phones so we’re able to post pictures and updates and check emails and do internet that way. But doing much more than picture posting can be a bit of a hassle on a phone screen. So I just haven’t been using it as much. (which I think is great).

I spend my days outside as much as possible, enjoying my now ten month old pup Zander, running errands to town, reading a lot, doing music stuff, and just keeping house. To say I am a spoiled girl is an understatement. I am so grateful that I’m able to work just part time, have ample free time to spend volunteering or with friends or running errands.

Our time in the dry cabin is quickly coming to an end. Our lease is up in July and while I’ve enjoyed our time living in the Goldstream Valley, we’re looking forward to living closer to town and having the incredible luxuries of hot running water and an indoor bathroom again. Oh how sweet it will be to be able to shower in my own house. πŸ˜›

A quick update on life in Alaska: it’s officially spring break-up season. Alaskans refer to this season as ‘breakup’ since the rivers and lakes are starting to thaw and thus, ‘break up’. A quirky tradition in Alaska is betting on when the Nenana River will breakup. It’s sort of like a lottery, since Alaska doesn’t have a lottery. People buy $2.50 breakup tickets and guess an exact date and time the river will break. In a little town called Nenana, they set up a tripod looking contraption in the middle of the river and attached to it is a timer that records the exact date and time it falls through. It’s something Alaskans statewide participate in, which I find funny since Nenana is such a small town between Fairbanks and Denali National Park. It’s famous this time of year though. They’re expecting it to break early this year since we’ve had such a mild winter.

The sun rises around 6am and sets around 9:30pm, and it’s only getting lighter! I’ll admit, this is the reason I love Alaska so much. Winter sports are great, but the anticipation of warm weather is only enhanced when the sun is out longer. It makes you want to stay out and stay up late…which I’ve definitely noticed affecting my daily performance. I work the early morning shift at a coffee shop, so I’m up at 4am every day, and when I’m staying up later and later due to the glorious sunshine, that starts taking a toll. (good thing I work in a coffee shop). πŸ™‚

I’m hoping to keep this blog going for a while. I just get so caught up in life here that I find it hard to commit to consistency. I know there are some people who enjoy reading about life here, and if anything, it’ll be nice to have a record of my time here. However, summer is coming, which means I try to make the most of every moment. In other words, going out to get Internet will become less and less a priority. In fact, the only reason I’m out right now was to update my computer and phone software since they are so out of date. πŸ˜›

Stick with me…more adventures to come. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

